Third Year Kimengumi: Chapters 1-3

3_kimen01_000a

After doing subtitles for the High School! Kimengumi movie, I hinted that I might return to translate more related material in the future… Well, now’s the time to fulfill that promise! This is Third Year (Sannen) Kimengumi, the original classic manga series from Shonen Jump. The title got eventually changed to the more well-known “High School” variant, but for all intents and purposes they’re the one and the same series.

While I don’t outright dislike the anime adaptation, I feel that the original work is clearly the definitive version of the two, which is why I’ve decided to translate the manga despite having much more experience in the subtitling side of things. I already wrote a brief introduction to the series on my previous post, so see that if you’re looking for more info.

All releases related to this series will be tagged with the name “Secret Ninja Empire” instead of the usual “U-Q” – thanks to all the input and help from my friend Jing Wu, this can hardly be called a solo effort and I don’t want to hog all the credit to myself!

Download link

7 thoughts on “Third Year Kimengumi: Chapters 1-3

  1. Finally! Somebody translated this series! I can’t thank you enough! I really wished a company like Viz could localize this manga. It’s really good so far! Despite some issues with the translation, It’s pretty solid.

Leave a Reply

